Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Undercurrent (AAA Master) Vinyl LP

Jackpot RecordsSKU fr-5046

enduring 1962 recording from piano + guitar duo session, AAA analog remaster
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Originally recorded in 1962, Undercurrents would be the first of two recorded collaborations between pianist Bill Evans and guitarist Jim Hall. The legendary NYC session finds the two jazz maestros in top form in the rare (for jazz) duo format, offering a beautifully introspective performance in the hard-swing / bebop style. Evans had just come off a long hiatus from recording (following the death of bassist Scott LaFaro), but delivers his signature gentle and melodic touch, as Hall perfectly compliments with advanced harmonies. Includes "My Funny Valentine," "I Hear A Rhapsody," "Dream Gypsy," "Romain," "Skating In Central Park," and "Darn That Dream," housed in a gatefold picture sleeve featuring Toni Frisell's photograph "Weekee Wachee Spring, Florida." This 2024 Jackpot reissue is an all-analog production affair - AAA Mastered from the Original Analog Master Tapes and cut live by Kevin Gray (Miles Davis, Herbie Hancock, Charles Mingus). Recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original master tapes
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ original liner notes
  • original release year: 1962
  • music label: Jackpot Records 2024
reviewed by neck cork 03/2018
UPC: 843563151013


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed