Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Explorations (180g) Vinyl LP

WaxTimeSKU fr-3893

1961 album from influential American jazz pianist remastered
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $18.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 189 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Bill Evan's second recording with bassist Scott LaFaro and drummer Paul Motian. Originally released in 1961 by Riverside Records, Explorations would be one of Evans' favorite recordings from the period. The album would also prove to be a favorite among listeners as it won the Billboard Jazz Critics award for best piano LP of 1961. The trio delivers pure jazz magic on fresh renditions of jazz standards like "How Deep Is The Ocean?" and "Beautiful Love," plus the lovely "Elsa," "Nardis," and more. Official WaxTime reissue on heavyweight 180 gram vinyl, complete with remastered sound and bonus track from same session ("The Boy Next Door"). Comes housed in reproduction pic sleeve.

  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • DMM Direct Metal Mastering
  • includes bonus track from the same session, not on original LP
  • music label: WaxTime 2012
reviewed by neck cork 02/2017
    UPC: 59174776


    Review & Q+A


    Labheads Also Viewed