Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Debut (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

One Little IndianSKU lp-6918

1993 breakout debut album reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Bjork's fantastically diverse debut solo album from 1993, now on beige vinyl! Those of us who were around back then probably remember seeing the "Human Behaviour" video for the first time on MTV. Michel Gondry's quirky video was many people's first introduction to the Icelandic signer. Debut found the former Sugarcubes vocalist moving away from her punk roots towards a more electronic sound. The album's four singles put Bjork on everyone's radar; "Human Behaviour," "Venus As A Boy," "Big Time Sensuality" and "Violently Happy" showed the diversity of the tracks that she could deliver. But Bjork brought a heavy jazz influence to the album as well. She worked with jazz harpist Corky Hale on an early version of the jazz standard, "Like Someone in Love." Furthering the jazz influence, Bjork teamed up with The Art Ensemble of Chicago saxophonist Oliver Lake who's work can be heard on "Aeroplane" and "The Anchor Song." Throughout the album there are traces of house, jazz and trip hop (which was just emerging at the time). Bjork's ability to coherently combine these disparate styles was unprecedented at the time. And the fact that she was able to complete an album that is still enjoyable from beginning to end today is just icing on the cake. Recommended.

  • 140 gram beige vinyl
  • limited edition
  • digital download included
  • music label: One Little Indian 1993 / 2015
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 09/2014

UPC: 17693508


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed