Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Ants From Up There (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP - Turntable Lab Exclusive - LIMIT 1 PER CUSTOMER

Ninja TuneSKU lp-13811

era-defining modern classic art rock, Lab exclusivo!
Write a review
| 1 answered question
sale $33.95
This title is currently sold out.
sign up for stock email to be notified if more become available ⬇️
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 339 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Cambridge, UK art rock band's outstanding sophomore album; Lab exclusivo! Four days before the highly-anticipated release of their follow-up to For the First Time, Black Country, New Road announced that they’d no longer be a septet – lead singer Isaac Wood had left the group. While this may have come as a shock to the group’s cult-following, listening to Wood’s lyrics throughout Ants From Up There, it becomes clear that the record was intended to be his breakup album with the group. Wood references a dying relationship with “Concorde,” a style of supersonic jet that was discontinued in the early aughts. On the third track, Wood sings “but for less than a moment we'd share the same sky, and then Isaac will suffer, Concorde will fly” a line that perfectly captures the undertone of the album (for the band to continue and grow, Woods needed to leave). After all, the band’s sound has changed drastically since their debut, leaving behind many post-punk tropes to shift towards chamber-pop a la Arcade Fire’s Funeral. The Montreal indie-rock group’s influence comes through heavily on tracks “Chaos Space Marine,” “Good Will Hunting,” and the closer “Basketball Shoes.” Scattered throughout the album there are also hints of Klezmer, a genre of Jewish folk music studied by some of the members. Ants From Up There is by-far the group's most accessible work, and while it may be the end of the first era of the group, they are still pushing their sound forward with their latest release Live at Bush Hall.

  • Turntable Lab exclusive
  • strict limit (1) per customer - any order for more than (1) will be canceled + refunded entirely
  • racing car green colored double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ full-size lyric booklet
  • digital download included
  • limited edition of 1000
  • original release year: 2022
  • music label: Ninja Tune 2023
  • TTL Editions 108
reviewed by SHH! 05/2023
UPC: 5054429173529


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed