Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The First Four Years Vinyl LP

SST RecordsSKU lp-9762

early material from the SoCal hardcore punk originators
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Compilation of early material from Hermosa Beach's Black Flag . The First Four Years was originally released in 1983 and includes all of the band's recorded output before Henry Rollins took over as vocalist in 1981. The band appears to be razor focused as they plow through songs like "Nervous Breakdown" and "Fix Me" from the Nervous Breakdown 7". At the time they were fronted by Keith Morris who would go on to start Circle Jerks after leaving the band. The follow up, Jealous Again, features Ron Reyes (aka Chavo) on vocals, but he does not quite live up to the precedent set by Morris' crowd baiting bursts of anger and sarcasm. The compilation closes out with the Six Pack EP, with Dez Cadena replacing Reyes. Cadena's strained, hoarse vocals would often be imitated throughout the hardcore punk scene. The cover of "Louie Louie" is not to be missed. Sixteen tracks in all. Released by SST Records ‎on black vinyl housed in a full color sleeve.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • music label: SST Records 1988
reviewed by ninetwofour 06/2018
UPC: 018861002118


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed