Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Galaxy Vol.27 (Quincy Jones, Jack DeJohnette) Vinyl 7"

Galaxy Sound Co.SKU fr-4399

2 heavily sampled jazz-funk essentials, remastered + gently edited
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $10.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 109 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Trusted splicers Blackcash & Theo serve up two sweated classics for the Galaxy Sample Series. On the top side is Quincy Jones' "Summer In The City," with deep organ licks immortalized in The Pharcyde's "Passin Me By" but also sampled by Massive Attack, Black Moon, Nightmares On Wax and more (Gen X / millenial cusps will no doubt remember the overplayed remix of Joe's "Stutter" as well). Down bottom is the lesser-played but still sweated "Epilog" by electric Miles era drummer Jack DeJohnette from his grail-ish Sorcery LP. Best known as the break from Erykah Badu's Dilla-produced "Kiss Me On My Neck" but also touched by Aphex Twin (!) and Gaslamp Killer. Both cuts remastered and gently edited for break potency and DJ friendliness.

  • black vinyl 7"
  • music label: Galaxy Sound Co. 2021
reviewed by Fusilli Jerry 02/2021



Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed