Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

23 Vinyl LP

4ADSKU lp-13939

2007 fan-fave upbeat effort on 4AD
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

For 23, the trio known as Blonde Redhead has brightened up their sound a bit from the uber-melancholy vibes found on Misery Is A Butterfly. Not to say this is a bad thing, it's actually a welcome change for me (can you really be down ALL the time). The title track "23" sets off the album and you can already tell they've got a more hopeful sound. Kazu still sounds wispy and frail, but there's an air of new energy and confidence in her voice. Next check "SW" and "Publisher" with the heavy shadow-ish drums (on point) and the Thom Yorke style vocals. I never really liked the tracks where the dude sings, but these ones are alright. When you get to "Silently," you know for sure these guys have cheered up quite a bit. A happy sounding Blonde Redhead track? Never thought I'd see the day, but it sounds pretty good. Also check "Top Ranking," probably my favorite track of the album with its stutter step drums and bittersweet melody. 10 tracks total.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeve
  • music label: 4AD 2007
reviewed by snackmaster 04/2007
UPC: 652637271713, 652637271713


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed