Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Droppin' Science - Greatest Samples From The Blue Note Lab Vinyl 2LP

Blue NoteSKU fr-2994

gems from the Blue Note vaults curated by Questlove
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

In an age of hip-hop where people are getting paid off Playstation beats and ring tones out selling CDs and vinyl - it's refreshing to get back to the roots. For Droppin' Science, your boy Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson of the Roots has taken the liberty of going through the legnendary Blue Note vaults and selecting some truly choice cuts that have been sampled for many of hip-hop's greatest joints. Every song on here is pretty much the business (and you'll probably recognize most - though you might not know it by title) but check the samples if you still need convinving: Ronnie Foster's "Mystic Brew" as sampled by ATCQ for "Electric Relaxation," Donald Byrd's "Think Twice" as sampled by J Dilla, De La, ATCQ, and Main Source, David McCallum's "The Edge" aka the monster sample for Dre + Snoop's "Next Episode", Grant Green's "Down Here On The Ground" as sampled by ATCQ and Madonna, Jeremy Steig's "Howling For Judy" aka the killer flute sample on the Beastie's "Get It Together", and Lou Donaldson's "Who's Makin' Love" as used by Biggie, Marley Marl, De La, and Mary J Blige. Not only a history lesson, but a great listen through and through. 13 tracks total (3 bonus cuts on the vinyl).

  • music label: Blue Note 2008
reviewed by snackmaster 04/2008
UPC: 17012745


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed