Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

If Wishes Were Horses Vinyl LP

A Colourful StormSKU lp-10772

airy 1992 jangle-pop, first-ever vinyl reissue
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

First-ever vinyl reissue of this sleeper indie pop debut from the highly underrated Blueboy. Hailing from the (mostly) landlocked town of Reading in southern England, it’s clear that Mark, Lloyd, Gemma, Paul and Keith were longing for sunnier climes, with song titles like “Sea Horses,” “Clear Skies,” “Too Good To Be True” and “Happiness And Smiles” suggesting an obsession with stealing away to some beach utopia somewhere. If Wishes Were Horses eclipses the provincial jangley guitars of The Smiths or The Sundays (also from Reading, innit) with a dual vocal style reminiscent of Laetitia and Mary from S’Lab or the airy intimacy of Pinback. If Wishes is unhurried from the jump, as the quintet are keen on taking their time and keeping it chill from bar one of “Candy Bracelet” through the remaining 7 songs. Despite the lackadaisical vibes though, the young band clearly had a lot of ideas to get down on tape, as every tune lands under the four minute mark save for wispy and atmospheric closer “Amoroso”; brimming with fresh, interesting arrangements and a tender melodic sensibility in the guitar lines. “Candy Bracelet” is the track I keep rinsing, but also check out the super breezy “Clear Skies,” the extremely English-sounding “Fondette” and tender cello-assisted “Cloud Babies.” First time on vinyl since 1992, housed in replica picture sleeve with printed insert containing lyrics and photos from the era. recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • first-ever vinyl reissue
  • includes printed insert
  • music label: A Colourful Storm 2019
reviewed by big kahuna burger 09/2019
UPC: 4251648413523


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed