Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

One (Indie Exclusive 180g Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

EvosoundSKU dmg-fr-4584

1974 debut from funky pianist, ltd color press, Nautilus!!!
2 Reviews
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$33.95 Original Price$37.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 379 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

I’m genuinely surprised we’ve never had Bob James' One in the lab before. “Nautilus" is sampled in more songs than I can count—”Children’s Story” by Slick Rick, “Follow the Leader” by Eric B. and Rakim, “Beats to the Rhyme” by Run-DMC (one of my all-time favorite beats), and “Clap Your Hands” by A Tribe Called Quest, just to name a few. The entire record is often hailed as an important predecessor to the smooth jazz genre, which is a bit ironic considering the intense orchestral arrangements on “Valley of the Shadows,” “Soulero,” and “Night on Bald Mountain.” “In The Garden” also intertwines laid-back country elements with Pachabel’s “Canon in D.” Engineered by the legendary Rudy Van Gelder in his Englewood Cliffs studio, the record features Idris Muhammad on drums and Grover Washington Jr. on soprano sax alongside a who’s who of session musicians like Steve Gadd and Eric Weissberg. Remastered from the original analog tapes. 6 tracks on yellow 180g vinyl, recommended.

  • 180g yellow colored vinyl
  • indie exclusive
  • remastered from the original tapes
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ extensive liner notes + printed insert
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1974
  • music label: Evosound 2021
reviewed by SHH! 08/2021


UPC: 4897012139479, 4897012139479


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed