Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Fancy Dancer (180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4631

accomplished jazz flutist's final Blue Note, recorded w/ Mizell Brothers
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Mesmerizing jazz-funk from America’s greatest flutist Bobbi Humphrey! Released during the fertile mid-70s Blue Note era, Fancy Dancer marks the end of Humphrey’s five-studio-album run on the esteemed jazz label. If you like Blacks And Blues, this should be your next stop in her discography. It has a distinguished cast of session musicians--harp deity Dorothy Ashby, hyper-prolific bassist Chuck Rainey, Headhunters drummer Harvey Mason and frequent collaborators Larry and Fonce Mizell on keys, vocals and writing duties. The Mizell Brothers produced this album and Donald Byrd’s Places And Spaces, another Lab favorite, back to back at the Sound Factory in August 1975, making this an excellent companion piece. Fancy Dancer is one of Humphrey’s best and most sampled works, with multiple flips by Madlib ("Please Set Me at Ease" for Shades Of Blue, "Uno Esta" for Yesterday's New Quintet) and others. 2021 Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition with new all-analog remaster from the original tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original tapes
  • limited edition
  • music label: Blue Note Records 2021
reviewed by SHH! 11/2021
UPC: 602435968032


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed