Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

boygenius (Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus) Vinyl LP

Matador SKU lp-10231

debut EP from indie-supergroup
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Mind meld of three separate indie powerhouses. Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, and Lucy Dacus all rose to fame through parallel paths. Each had proven themselves accomplished writers, composers, and performers in their own right, and in the past few years each have emerged as powerful singular forces, crowned darlings of a new wave of female-driven indie rock skewed more towards emo, folk and blues than towards a punk sound.

The three had crossed paths while touring over the past couple years and started a group text. What began as a way to share their interest in music and books developed into a shared online document where musical ideas were passed around, culminating in a recording studio session in early 2018. During this process the term "boy genius" was thrown around as a half-joke used to describe the preternatural confidence that is applied to their male peers. After their recording session in Los Angeles, the boygenius moniker stuck. The music on boygenius is rich with layers of instrumentation and harmonies. Songs often wail - as opposed to whisper - with a certain hardiness to prevail over the gut-reaction to simplify the songs as purely 'sad'. There’s no discernible front woman, each singer plays a pivotal role individually and collaboratively in the collective. It's hard to pick favorite cuts, but songs to check out are "Bite The Hand," "Souvenir," and "Ketchum, ID."

  • black vinyl pressing
  • digital download card included
  • music label: Matador 2018
reviewed by RBG 11/2018
UPC: 744861140818


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed