Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Release The Beast Vinyl 7"

Be With RecordsSKU fr-4165

synthesizer-led hard rock/funk rarity, Daft Punk sample source
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Breakwater was a funk band formed in Philadelphia, PA in 1971. The group was effectively led by keyboard player Ulysses Kae Williams Jr., who wrote the hard rock-influenced “Release The Beast” along with trumpet player and vocalist Gene Robinson and woodwind player Vince Dutton. The track was first heard on Breakwater’s 1980 album Splashdown (Arista), a moderate success that peaked at #34 on Billboard’s Soul LPs chart. The album boasts a solid gear list, with Williams credited as playing the Fender Rhodes Piano in addition to ARP 2600, Mini-Moog, Prophet 5, and ARP Omni synthesizers. In 2005, the main synthesizer and percussion riff became the very foundation of "Robot Rock", the lead single from Daft Punk’s post-Discovery attempt at restraint Human After All. This track was previously issued on a super rare 1980 7” backed with Splashdown album closer “Time”, but this reissue instead includes the jubilant horn-led funk workout “Let Love In”. Pressed on black vinyl with a standard sized center hole. 

  • 7" black vinyl pressing
  • limited edition
  • music label: Be With Records 2019
reviewed by EDWIN BIRDSONG CLOCK 09/2019


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed