Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Transa (180g) Vinyl LP

Vinyl LoversSKU lp-11697

1972 full-length from Brazilian music giant recorded in political exile
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$24.95 Original Price$31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Transa is the 4th album by Brazilian musician Caetano Veloso, released on 1972 by PolyGram. Like its predecessor, it was recorded while the artist was exiled in London, though he returned to Brazil shortly after completing it. Evocative, eclectic, intimate, and rhythmically complex, Transa contains everything that has made Caetano Veloso the most distinctive and, arguably, most important voice in modern Brazilian music. The record was cut in 1972, shortly after Veloso's return from political exile in England. Though the songs are not overtly political, they seem allegorical, celebratory, and plaintive at once, and point to a tension between the artist's expressive impulse and the strictures of his native country. This tension is further heightened by the presence of lyrics in both English and Portuguese. The beautiful, desperate 'You Don't Know Me' may be the world's first bilingual bossa nova/folk-punk anthem of identity. The jazzy 'Nine Out of Ten' gives way to the gear-shifting 'Triste Bahia,' which features webs of accelerating Brazilian percussion. A spare treatment of the classic samba 'Mora Na Filosofia,' the cosmic ditty 'Neolithic Man,' and the 12-bar 'Nostalgia,' (ending with the wise line 'That's What Rock 'n Roll Is All About') close out the set. Transa is a jewel in Veloso's discography and a must for anyone interested in Brazilian pop - or brilliant, original pop in general." - Vinyl Lovers

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • includes printed lyric insert
  • music label: Vinyl Lovers 2020
UPC: 8013252900082


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed