Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

It's A Monster Vinyl LP

Tidal Waves MusicSKU fr-4014

heavy proto-disco funk out of New Jersey reissued for the first time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$15.95 Original Price$25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fire alert! First vinyl reissue since originally released in 1976 (and super-limited to boot). Sole album by the mid 70’s New Jersey funk outfit Calendar is a proto-disco dance floor jammer! "It’s A Monster" is a solid slice of funk all the way through thanks in no small part to the production / arrangements by Paul Kyser (who went on to work with Stevie Wonder, The Three Degrees, and The Chi-Lites, among others). To top it off, the albums engineering and mastering were done by industry veterans 'Godfrey Diamond' (Lou Reed, Lonnie Liston Smith) & José Rodriguez (Grace Jones, The Jimmy Castor Bunch, Betty Davis). Featuring killer grooves and top-notch musicianship, if you’re a fan of funk (and who isn’t?) this album will likely be in constant rotation on your turntable, as it already is at TTL HQ. Top tracks are "Hypertension," "Take The Time (To See Beauty Around You)," and "Comin' On Strong." Super limited pressing of 500 copies worldwide, featuring 8 tracks in all. Recommended.

  • limited edition of 500 copies
  • music label: Tidal Waves Music 2018
reviewed by RBG 11/2018
UPC: 704907955721


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed