Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Roadkill (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Captured TracksSKU lp-9984

private press LP by teen industrial/post-punk band ft. Ben Stiller
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$22.95 Original Price$25.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Yep, this is the lone album from Ben Stiller’s high school band, released in 1982 when he was just a young wannabe punk living under Frank Costanza’s roof. Captured Tracks boss Mike Sniper came across a musty copy of the record in a dead man’s home when he was buying for Academy Records in 2005, and was intrigued by the unique artwork and the ‘B. Stiller’ listed in the credits. The band also included Kriss Roebling (his family name is linked to the Roebling Street in Williamsburg somewhere down the line), Arizona appellate judge Peter Swann and Peter Zusi, a Professor of Slavic Studies at Britain’s University College London (Stiller has since downplayed his involvement in the band, deferring to Roebling as the ringleader and the visionary). The teenage ambition that permeates Roadkill is undeniably charming and will be familiar to anyone who wanted to make a record in high school. They totally wear their influences on their sleeves: Residents, Chrome, Cabaret Voltaire, et al. Track 1 “Necronomican” opens with an ominous windchime loop dubbed over with a news report about a serial killer, like some sort of teenage approximation of Throbbing Gristle’s “Hamburger Lady.” The crew cover a surprising amount of ground here, from the dry postpunk of “Delta Time” and the title track to the Stereolabby “Cosmos,” bubbling synth burps of “John’s Forgotten Land” and the relatively straightforward “All Just In Passing.” The bouncy “Muzak Anonymous” predates Ween by a cool half decade and could easily be an outtake from Ariel Pink’s Pom Pom. Captured Tracks originally announced this reissue three and a half years ago, and have been patiently waiting for Ben Stiller to write liner notes ever since. And they were worth the wait - you simply gotta read the full story behind this record to truly believe it. Also includes essays from Sniper and the rest of the band members plus never before seen photos. Red colored vinyl pressing with download code, recommended.

  • red colored vinyl
  • includes booklet w/ photos + detailed liner notes by Ben Stiller, the band + Mike Sniper
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Captured Tracks 2018
reviewed by military 2step 09/2018



UPC: 14344816


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed