Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Suddenly Vinyl LP

Merge RecordsSKU dm-5888

1st Caribou LP w/ Dan Snaith vocals on every track
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Simply put, Suddenly is familiar and surprising at once. It’s Dan Snaith’s fifth album under his Caribou alias, which is known for live performances that merge psychedelia and left-field dance influences into a heady, vivid combination. He’s an incredible DJ and master producer as well, with 3 electronic-based albums released under the Daphni alias. Suddenly is the closest merging of these two identities yet - songs shuffle and morph in unexpected ways, drastically chopped-and-screwed samples crash in from nowhere. “Suddenly refers to the moments of dramatic and unexpected change that occur at points in any life and within any family—universal themes that catch you off guard and change your life in a heartbeat.”, explains Snaith. “You And I” begins with warbling keys and a filtered drumkit, soft falsetto vocals over aquatic instrumentation. “Home” begins with block-rocking breaks and layers of out of focus vocal samples, sunny guitar and brass flourishes liven up the party. “Never Come Back” seems to be a response to the attempted trance revival of the past few years or so, pitched up vocal samples and epic strings make for a thoughtful consideration of the genre’s cliched excesses. Nice-sounding half-speed mastered LP housed in spot-gloss finished jacket w/ download code.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • first Caribou album w/ Dan Snaith vocals on every track
  • mastered at half-speed by Matt Colton
  • housed in full color matte jacket w/ spot gloss finish
  • digital download included
  • music label: Merge Records 2020
UPC: 673855070810


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed