Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Placenta (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

International Anthem Recording CompanySKU lp-15018

new age cosmic jazz from co-architect of Andre 3000's New Blue Sun; ft. Andre + L.A. scene heavyweights
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $36.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 369 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Placenta is the fourth collection of imaginative and highly collaborative Carlos Niño & Friends music released on International Anthem since 2021. Perhaps more notably for the zeitgeist of today, it's the first new music to be released by Carlos Niño & Friends following the November 2023 release of André 3000’s New Blue Sun – which Carlos produced alongside André, co-writing, co-creating/playing, and co-mixing every song. Placenta is announced on the 1st solar return of Moss Niño, of whom Carlos and his partner Annelise are Earth parents. Their experience of pregnancy, labor and delivery were all profoundly impactful for Carlos. Becoming a father again (a whole 24 years after the birth of Azul Niño, who has become a regular artistic collaborator with Carlos) he felt total Inspiration for this set of recordings, and hence it is the most conceptually-grounded Carlos Niño & Friends album we've yet to present – fully connected to the spirit of family, birth, and 'how we get here.' In Niño’s words, Placenta is 'dedicated to Mothers, Children, Babies, Aunties, Doulas, Midwives, Birthworkers…,' and a short list of track titles includes: 'Love to all Doulas!,' 'Some Rest for the Midwives,' 'Real Vital Organs,' and 'Generous Pelvis.' The centerpiece of the album, the sprawling 'Placenta, Nourishment, New Home, The Galaxy,' is an unbelievably vivid immersion in the sonic architecture of Niño's memory-scape... like being present in his energy field... or being present in a birthing room, or maybe even being born yourself. And it just might be the most powerful, unique piece of music Niño has ever created." - International Anthem

  • 2024 album from André 3000's close collaborator + co-architect of New Blue Sun
  • 'placental purple & blue' marble colored double vinyl pressing
  • housed in deluxe UV gloss jacket w/ printed inner sleeves
  • limited edition
  • music label: International Anthem Recording Company 2024
UPC: 789993994236


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed