Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Big Shots (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Stones ThrowSKU hh-5674

shelved 1993 LP from Stones Throw boss w/ his late great MC counterpart
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$29.95 Original Price$32.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

This full length, recorded from 91-93, is finally seeing the light in its entirety after all these years. Peanut Butter Wolf and Stones Throw have been slowly releasing this material over the past five years or so, beginning with the single for "Methods," also known as that heavenly smooth shit. Next was the compelling "Devotion," and lately we've been treated to "Here's A Smirk," "Jack The Mack" and a couple others. Even with nothing else worthwhile, this album would be still be a worthy pick-up, but from my perspective the unreleased tracks smoke the recently released singles. I'm especially feeling the PB Wolf production when he aims at my feel-good heart, and the second half of this set reveals at least 4 new pillows to rest headphones on. Just check out the inside joke "Ice Cream Truck" and the sweet guitar loops on "Soon To Be Large." Charizma doesn't have all that much to say on the mic, but that's fine. He can run the beat with anybody and when they are on, his passive/aggressive delivery meshes well with the Peanut Butter. In the end, Big Shots feels like a rough cut of juvenile ambition- like a teenager so talented and full of exuberance that you can't help but get roped along for the ride. 15 tracks total.

  • 20th anniversary edition
  • 'apple juice' colored double vinyl pressing
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 2003
  • music label: Stones Throw 2024
reviewed by the mgmnt 10/2005
UPC: 659457207748


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed