Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Mingus Ah Um (180g Teal Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

DolSKU fr-4390

1959 large ensemble works from inventive jazz bassist / composer
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $18.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 189 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

POST BOP MASTERPIECE FROM AMERICAN JAZZ LEGEND. Mingus Ah Um was originally recorded in 1959 and drew on the influence of Charles Mingus' musical ancestors. It was the storied bassist's debut for Columbia and he turned in a recording that captured all of his talents. The set is extremely varied, encompassing the spiritual ecstasy of "Better Get It in Your Soul," complete with gospel shouts and the mockery of segregationist Arkansas governor Orval Faubus on "Fables of Faubus" (the censored lyrics can be found on Charles Mingus Presents Charles Mingus). There's a tribute to recently deceased saxophonist Lester Young on the slow moving "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat" and the aggressive swing of "Boogie Stop Shuffle." And Mingus offers up nods to jazz greats Duke Ellington and Jelly Roll Morton on their namesake songs. With all that and more Ah Um comes the closest to being the definitive Mingus album. Nine tracks in all, recommended.

reviewed by Cool Hand 06/2017
UPC: 889397105440


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed