Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Chet Baker Quartet: In Paris (180g, Leloir Collection) Vinyl LP

Jazz ImagesSKU fr-3654

jazz trumpeter/vocalist dubbed "Prince of Cool" in top form
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Originally released as Chet Baker Quartet Vol. 2, the session that makes up this album occurred at the Pathe-Magellan Studio in Paris. The 1955 recording features Gerard Gustin on piano, Nils-Bertil Dahlander on drums, and Jimmy Bond on bass, and "The Prince of Cool" on the trumpet. Troubled by the death of Dick Twardzik (original pianist who had traveled to Europe with Baker) immediately after two earlier sessions, Baker forgoes the "highly innovative" new compositions w/ modern chord progressions the two used to favor and concentrates on standards, and a "cool-toned bop set" consisting of tracks like "These Foolish Things," "Autumn In New York," "There Is A Small Hotel," and "Summertime" are presented here on 180g vinyl. This heavyweight 180g reissue is part of the Leloir Collection, a limited retrospective series of some of the best jazz albums of all time with new artwork incorporating Jean-Pierre Leloir's iconic photography.

  • limited edition
  • 180 gram virgin vinyl reissue
  • new cover art featuring iconic photos by Jean-Pierre Leloir
  • deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Jazz Images 1955 / 2016
reviewed by bar adal 06/2017
UPC: 52395272


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed