Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Late Spring Vinyl LP

GearboxSKU lp-12383

stellar ambient project from prolific Japanese electroacoustic artist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Japanese musician Chihei Hatakeyama's debut on Gearbox Records, Late Spring gently unfolds as a shared journeying experience through a series of rich and outstanding encounters. From the cathedral organ-like opener 'Breaking Dawn' with it's sub-aqua resonances, to the subtle drift of the closing track 'Twilight Sea,' this record is a masterpiece of dense and beatific melodies. Drawn from evolving synthesized sounds and shimmering slow motion guitars, it combines these with occasional sonic elements that are best described as evoking computer code running through the veins of the machines like artificial blood. Inspired by the beauty in circular motions of landscape and the changes of season lying beneath ordinary everyday life (as shown in the work of renowned Japanese film director Yasujirō Ozu with whose 1949 film the album shares a title), Late Spring is arranged to project the impression of an old film. The concept behind circular movement came to Hatakeyama as he was watching Twin Peaks - The Return, directed by David Lynch." - Gearbox

  • electroacoustic ambient synthesizer project from prolific Japanese producer + multi-instrumentalist
  • black vinyl pressing
  • includes printed insert + obi strip
  • music label: Gearbox 2021
UPC: 4571524500117


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed