Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Personal Space: Electronic Soul 1974-1984 2LP / CD

Chocolate IndustriesSKU fr-2698

lo-fi soul gems w/ early synths and drum machines
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The curatorial wizardry of Dante Carfagna releases true magic on Personal Space: Electronic Soul 1974 - 1984, their new collection of incredible finds, gems of unheard, private-issue soul from the 70s and 80s, all with an emphasis on synthesizer, sequencer, and drum machine usage. Setting itself far above most recent reissues, it‚Äs a compilation that explores the creation of an identity amidst what was a new age of sounds. Unique atmospheres, moods, emotions, are pioneered by circuitry, a prime example being the Makers' "Don't Challenge Me". Lulling the listener into its call-and-response of synthesized composition and sultry vocals, the track has been melting ears around here. Jeff Phelps, Key & Cleary, Starship Commander Woo Woo's "Master Starship" (basically, THE jam) further highlight these uncharted territories of emotional weirdness - a wholly new kind of soul music prime for introspection, mind-wandering and thoughtfulness (thoughtlessness). Highly recommended, a must-have for anyone who‚Äs been digging anything from Stones Throw, Now Again Records, etc. Also of note, awesome packaging is just always a plus, with a beyond choice photo from NASA gracing the comp's cover.

  • Music Label: Chocolate Industries 2012
reviewed by A. Tomorrow 05/2012
UPC: 14485598, 16073816


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed