• Chromatics: Closer To Grey (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP
  • Chromatics: Closer To Grey (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP
  • Chromatics: Closer To Grey (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP
  • Chromatics: Closer To Grey (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Closer To Grey (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Italians Do It Better

↳ 2019 surprise release album on LP for first time

🕒 Please note: due to current events, current order processing times are 5-8 business days.
Vinyl 2LP $37.95
Earn up to 379 Reward Points with this purchase! more info

Who’s this Tommy guy, anyway? Everyone’s favorite soft-focus disco ensemble returns after a seven year absence - well, that’s not entirely true. They recorded seven covers of Cyndi Lauper’s "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun", added some serious vibes to the reboot of Twin Peaks, and may or may not have pressed a lot of copies of a record only for Johnny Jewel to come by and dump 'em in the pool. (Either way, it made for some nice photos.) They’ve come a long way from the shrill, noisy sounds emblematic of their early days but have remained surprising and enigmatic nonetheless. Closer To Gray was a surprise release in October 2019, continuing their string of widescreen pop records with a chilly, minimalist atmosphere. The album starts in familiar territory - a ticking clock slashing through analog hiss begins their cover of Simon and Garfunkle’s The Sound of Silence, another brilliant cover to add to their repertoire. (Closer to Grey also includes a brilliant slo-mo beatbox take on The Jesus & Mary Chain’s "On The Wall".) “You’re No Good” is icy synths and impeccable drum programming that emphasizes Ruth Radeley's intimate yet detached vocals, Title track “Closer To Grey” reminds of New Order’s brilliant guitar and synthesizer interplay. This preorder is for the red double vinyl edition.

  • red double vinyl pressing
  • limited edition
  • gatefold sleeve w/ printed inners
  • music label: Italians Do It Better 2019
reviewed by BRITTLE WOMEN 01/2020


Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question


Free Shipping on orders over $99 to the Contiguous US
You have no items in your cart
Free Shipping for orders over $99
shipping to Contiguous US
Edit Cart
Continue Shopping