Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

She's In Control - 15th Anniversary Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 3LP

Last Gang RecordsSKU lp-11303

Vice-era electro funk sleaze expanded w/ rare remixes
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Celebrating 15 years of Dave 1 + Pee Thug's silky debut! Clear triple vinyl expanded edition includes all the original CD-only remixes from Playgroup (Trevor Jackson), Whitey, DFA (James Murphy & Tim Goldsworthy) and The Juan MacLean on vinyl for the first time, plus new versions of "Needy Girl" and "Rage!" mixed by Philippe Zdar, housed in deluxe gatefold with new liner notes from Tiga. This record really takes us back to a time and place; here's the full unedited Lab review from Blu Jemz from when we first carried the album:

Chromeo consists of two guys from Montreal, Dave 1, Vice magazine's music editor, and his boy Pee Thug, one of the other guys at the Audio Research label. The record is also on Vice's record label, and that magazine's hating track record kind of gives this LP the "Mark Ronson effect" - you want to hate it, but you can't really front on it. In fact, I heard "Mercury Tears" over a year ago on some sampler CD without knowing anything about the group, and I was playing it on some "get up in the morning and face the world" type shit. At the same time though, it wasn't something I really wanted to let my friends know I was digging. Chromeo is definitely for a certain person, and I think there are three types of people who should buy this record. The first group is DJs who spin electro/funk-ish music (Cameo, Prince, Lisa Lisa, Fannypack, The Faint, Daft Punk, etc). This will be a valuable addition. The second group is basically anyone who likes to party hard with drugs. Self explanatory after listening. The third (this is the group to which I belong) are the type of people who secretly want to marry all of their babysitters from the 80's and fiend for anything that brings them back to those days. Not to say that this is solely a retro record. Its roots are firmly planted in Reaganomic funk, but they also take advantage of numerous post-2000 production techniques, making for a fresh sound. All I can say is listen to "Me and My Man," "You're So Gangsta" and especially the lyrics on "Needy Girl" and decide if you belong to any of the aforementioned groups.

  • clear triple vinyl pressing
  • 15th anniversary edition
  • includes rare CD-only remixes on vinyl for the first time
  • new liner notes by executive producer Tiga
  • housed in deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Last Gang Records 2020
reviewed by JMS 05/2005
UPC: 634164964511


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed