Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Dais RecordsSKU lp-11461

pseudonymous 1996 album from dark ambient masters, 1st official reissue
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$26.95 Original Price$33.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Why be bleak when you can be Blake?” Originally released in 1996 under the alias Black Light District, A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room is considered somewhat of an outlier from Coil’s proper discography. The alter ego was created to focus on experimental studio recording, with more emphasis on atmospheric textures, field recordings, computer music and John Cage’s ‘unprepared piano’ than the acid house stylings of Love’s Secret Domain and ‘dark ambient’ sound of Musick to Play in the Dark. The presence of newly-inducted member Drew McDowall is felt strongly on the complex textures and brilliant sound design of tracks like “London’s Lost Rivers,” “Refusal of Leave to Land,” “Stoned Circular II” and “Cold Dream of an Earth Star,” amplifying the brooding and austere moods that Coil, by 1996, had down to a science. Save for a few bootlegs, the album has been unavailable on vinyl since 1996, so this remastered double vinyl pressing on Dais is more than welcome. Red colored version limited to 500, housed in gatefold sleeve with download code, recommended.

  • red colored double vinyl pressing
  • remastered by Josh Bonati
  • gatefold sleeve w/ repro artwork by John Balance & Peter Christopherson
  • reissue supervised by Drew McDowall
  • limited to 500 copies
  • digital download included
  • music label: Dais Records 2018
reviewed by tom violence 11/2018
UPC: 669439870655


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed