Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Fantasma Vinyl 2LP

Lefse RecordsSKU lp-7963

97 experimental/electronic/psych-pop album from Japan
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Keigo Oyamada aka Cornelius is the de facto king of Shibuya-kei, a subgenre of ‘90s Japanese pop, which drew influences from French pop, bossa nova, and house. Formerly a member of the Shibuya-kei band Flipper’s Guitar, the producer went solo in 1991 and launched a successful career, which went far beyond Shibuya-kei and continues to influence the global indie scene (Kimbra, New Zealand recording artist featured on Gotye’s 2012 hit “Somebody That I Used to Know,” often cites him as an inspiration). Fantasma is the third album from Keigo, and it consists of 17 cut-and-paste-style tracks that truly defy any attempt at categorization, but here’s one anyway: it’s an eclectic musical soup that jumps in and out of Shibuya-kei, noise, electronica, psych pop, rock, and ambient-hip-hop at exhilarating rates. Fantasma is also noted for the orchestral-style arrangements, a feat that earned Cornelius the “modern day Brian Wilson” title, and this remastered vinyl reissue is the perfect way to experience the Japanese maestro’s visionary, ever-relevant work. Recommended.

  • gatefold sleeve
  • digital download included
  • music label: Lefse Records 1997 / 2016
reviewed by donut savage 06/2016
    UPC: 81158536


    Review & Q+A


    Labheads Also Viewed