Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Booksmart Soundtrack (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Lakeshore RecordsSKU lp-10721

quirky hip-hop inspired rhythms score teen coming-of-age comedy
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Booksmart is a raw and hilarious coming-of-age comedy that stars Kaitlyn Dever, Beanie Feldstein, and Jessica Williams, and was directed by Olivia Wilde. Following in the tradition of John Hughes, Superbad, and Juno, the film is one of those that the critics can’t help but heap praise upon, but it’s the target audience that made it a true hit. The soundtrack includes a variety of pop hits from throughout the ages, but what we have here is the score, composed by Dan “The Automator” Nakamura. Renowned for his work with the Gorillaz and his membership in Handsome Boy Modeling School and Deltron 3030This is his first full domestic score, having contributed some bits and bobs to Scott Pilgrim vs. The World in addition to scoring a couple of Chinese films. The collaboration between Wilde and Nakamura was a natural one, in her words: “Dan is a creative genius who added multiple dimensions to our film through his complex, emotional, and beautiful compositions.” Hip-hop and sampling culture informs much of the production here, but in softer ways - drums lingering at levels barely above heartbeat volume with gentle washes of synth and string. The music is interspersed with lightly chopped-and-screwed dialogue from the film, but it’s integrated well into the music itself, not just dropped randomly between tracks. This record is pressed on limited edition blue marble vinyl. 

  • blue marble colored vinyl
  • limited edition
  • music label: Lakeshore Records 2019


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed