Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Psychic (Nicolas Jaar, Dave Harrington) 2LP

MatadorSKU lp-5727

progressive minimal techno drenched in bluesy ambiance
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Darkside, the collaboration between Nicolas Jaar and multi-instrumentalist Dave Harrington, returns with their second full length. Psychic is a languid in its pace, the album format allows Jaar and Harrington the time and space to let their tracks unfold at an almost sluggish rate. There is more than enough going on, though. Jaar has always been one to imbue his productions with rhythm and texture while Harrington has enough bluesy licks up his guitar playing sleeves to keep your Delta dwelling grandpappy more than satisfied. As the opener, "Golden Arrow," progresses we're given a heavy dose of droney synths before the beat drops somewhere around the half way mark. Jaar and Harrington trade off vocal duties throughout the album and add a complimentary human touch in doing so. They exercise a tasteful amount of restraint as well, always leaving the listener wanting a little more. Psychic provides a unique view of the world of electronic music, pitting the R&B based guitar licks against minimal techno's warm thump. It's something that does not necessarily seem like it will work on paper, but somehow Darkside pull it off in spades.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • music label: Matador 2013
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 10/2013
UPC: 744861103516


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed