Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

North Hills 10th Anniversary Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP+7"

ATO RecordsSKU lp-10802

Laurel Canyon-recorded contemporary roots-rock, inc'l 2 prev. unreleased tracks
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Dawes is a folk rock band from Los Angeles, best known as contemporary torchbearers of the classic Laurel Canyon sound. Dawes began as Simon Dawes, a post-punk inspired outfit that toured with groups such as Eisley, Wolfmother, and Incubus, but shifted to their current roots-rock sound with the departure of founding member Blake Mills. North Hills’ story begins with a series of jam sessions organized by producer Jonathan Wilson (Father John Misty, Bonnie “Prince” Billy) that often also included Conor Oberst and Chris Robinson of the Black Crowes. This shared musical dialogue massively influenced the creation of North Hills, which was recorded live and direct to tape by Wilson, evoking the spirit of past acoustic-based music by groups such as The Band or Harvest-era Neil Young. Lead singer Taylor Goldsmith is a thoughtful, endearing vocalist who brings to mind an array of artists from various eras of the FM dial - Gram Parsons, Dylan, Bono. The tracks have a longer running time than the average, giving the band a chance to riff and vamp in their authentic yet nostalgic style. “When You Call My Name” brings to mind My Morning Jacket on an acoustic bent, “If You Let Me Be Your Anchor” is a rumbling Dead-interpolating ramble. “When My Time Comes” is the highlight of the album, based in finger-picked guitar, upfront snares, and spoken confessions at odds with beautiful harmonies. This 10th anniversary edition comes in a deluxe foil embossed gatefold sleeve with printed inner sleeves and a reprint of the original promo poster. The album is pressed on two red LPs, and includes a bonus 7” with two previously unreleased b-sides.

  • double red colored vinyl pressing
  • deluxe foil embossed gatefold sleeve and printed inners
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: ATO Records 2019
reviewed by TOUCH ID 09/2019
UPC: 880882367817


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed