Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Livin For Your Love Vinyl 12"

Beat ElectricSKU fr-4179

unreleased demos from funk masterminds behind Dayton + Sun
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $14.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 149 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Unreleased funk burners on wax for the first time! Sometime in 1982, the members of Dayton Flic recorded five demo tracks to enter a contest to win a Sony Records recording contract. Two of those tracks have been rescued from the depths of obscurity and have made it on to 12", thanks to SF's Beat Electric imprint. "Livin' For Your Love" proves without a doubt that the group had the funk in a major way, delivering moving rhythms, soulful melodies, and slap bass for days. On the flip, "I'm Mad" takes it deeper into the funk zone with a low-slung groove paired with heavy vocoder action to make the dance freaks go off. Despite making the entry deadline, the band never heard back from Sony, but that didn't stop the band members from pursuing the funk. Eventually members of Dayton Flic (Dean Hummons, Jenny Douglas, Chris Bowman, Roger Parker, and Jared Micheal Nicholson) would go their separate ways and join notable acts including Sun, Dayton, Toto(!) and more. 

  • mastered from original demo tapes
  • music label: Beat Electric 2019
reviewed by keytar attachment 10/2019
UPC: 57772122


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed