Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death Vinyl LP

Manifesto RecordsSKU lp-11149

career closing retrospective from the Bay Area punk originators
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

As fitting an introduction to the Dead Kennedys as anything out there. Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death features unreleased material and alternative versions of some of the Bay Area punk rock legends' best songs. The most notable inclusion is "Pull My Strings," which the band performed only once and never officially recorded. The occasion was the 1980 edition of the Bay Area Music Awards and the band were expected to play "California Über Alles." About 15 seconds into the song, in typical subversive fashion, lead singer Jello Biafra cuts off the band and says, "Hold it! We've gotta prove that we're adults now. We're not a punk rock band, we're a new wave band." The band then goes into a satirical attack on the ethics of the mainstream music industry while aping "My Sharona" in the process. There's plenty more to be said about the Dead Kennedys but I'll let the music speak for itself. Consider this a must have for any fan.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • remastered sound
  • includes 24 page booklet
  • music label: Manifesto Records 2001
reviewed by gil man 06/2015
UPC: 767004291413


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed