Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Kaputt Vinyl 2LP

Merge RecordsSKU lp-6360

complex pop and indie rock from Dan Bejar's Destroyer
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

2011 album from Dan Bejar's Destroyer. For Kaputt Bejar mines the backwaters of pop and rock from the late 70s and the early 80s. There's a certain soft focus to the music as you make your way through the album. Reverbed trumpets and saxophones add punctuation to the soft rock and romantic pop vibes. There are plenty of fantastic moments on the album, from the jazzy pop of "Chinatown," to the introspective title track. There's the collaboration with artist Kara Walker, "Suicide Demo for Kara Walker," which finds Bejar in uncharted lyrical territory. From there head to "Blue Eyes" where Bejar trades funny put downs with Vancouver singer Sibel Thrasher. The album closes with "Bay Of Pigs," an epic, side long number that rides droney ambiance before heading into a lazy disco groove. Kaputt is a testament to Bejar's ability to create unique worlds with every album he releases.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • includes free download
  • music label: Merge Records 2011
reviewed by Hank Ohs 11/2014
UPC: 673855036915


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed