Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

GO! (180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4521

essential hard bop from influential tenor man w/ immortal Reid Miles sleeve, 180g analog remaster
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Essential 1962 Blue Note jazz, remastered from the original analog tapes. Go! is unquestionably tenor sax legend Dexter Gordon’s most notable work—after all, it’s his only album preserved by the Library of Congress. Recorded by Rudy Van Gelder in his famed New Jersey studio, and featuring Sonny Clark on piano, Butch Warren on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums, Go! and Gordon’s follow up record A Swingin’ Affair (recorded just two days later) are noted for their relaxed sound and use of referential motifs within improvisation. The only original composition on the album, “Cheese Cake” is perhaps Gordon’s most recognizable song in his discography. The following five tracks are all instrumental renditions of popular American songs and jazz standards, such as Jule Styne and Sammy Cahn’s "I Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out to Dry," and Cole Porter’s “Love for Sale" from the Great American Songbook. Go! might not be as groundbreaking as Coltrane’s output in the early ‘60s, but it is equally as consistent and remains a must-have in jazz collections.

reviewed by SHH! 07/2021
UPC: 602435799070


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed