Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

24 -> 24 Music (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Sleeping BagSKU fr-4173

Arthur Russell's underground disco classic, inc'l key Levan and FK remixes
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$19.95 Original Price$21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

In the world of disco, it's seldom that you'll find an artist like Arthur Russell.  Here's a little background on this left-field disco master: He studied cello, then Indian Music at the Ali Akbar Khan School in SF, accompanied legendary beat poets like Allen Ginsberg, worked with large bands with musicians like David Byrne, and went to produce some of disco's finest works. In 1979, he produced one of Sire Records' first hits, Dinosaur's "Kiss Me Again," along with Loose Joints' "Is It All Over My Face?" before founding Sleeping Bag Records along with with Will Socolov. Listen to "Clean On Your Bean #1" and hear how modern the production is. The reverberating slap bass intro, the new wave horns, the eerie chords, and the addictively strange hook remains the envy of many producers today. The line in his hit "Go Bang! (Thank You Arthur Edit)" summarizes the energy of the early 80's disco/new wave scene, "I wanna see all my friends at once, I'll do anything to get a chance to Go Bang! I wanna Go Bang!" Pure genius. Also check his more experimental jams "#7," "#3 (in The Corn Belt)," for a taste of his wilder side. Also includes the "#5 Go Bang! (Francois K Mix) and "In The Corn Belt (Larry Levan Mix)" where you have two key NY DJ's giving their unique versions. This album is pressed on double white vinyl and is an essential document for fans of NYC underground music, left-field disco, and good, clean fun. Highly recommended. 

  • double white vinyl pressing
  • music label: Sleeping Bag
reviewed by The Voice 10/2011


UPC: 0829357653055


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed