Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Knock Knock (Indie Exclusive) Vinyl 3LP+7"+10"+CD Boxset

PampaSKU lp-9624

stacked deluxe edition of Stefan Kozalla's ambitious 5th long player
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$39.95 Original Price$49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

“I always aim for a kind of timelessness and in my subjective perception timelessness means avoiding things and sounds. This is a much more difficult task than vice versa.” Like its predecessor Amygdala, Knock Knock sports a lot of vocalists, but each player is deployed at just the right moment, lending their talents to round out DJ Koze’s grand vision. The result is somewhere on the spectrum near Massive Attack’s Mezzanine or UNKLE’s Psyence Fiction; both overly ambitious albums with long lists of collaborators, but timeless. The album credits cite Bon Iver as a featured vocalist on “Bonfire,” one of the album's most sublime moments. But truthfully, Koze just sampled some of Justin Vernon’s vocals from Bon Iver, Bon Iver standout “Calgary” - not that it takes anything away from the track; if it were simply a Koze remix of “Calgary” we’d be thrilled to have it on wax either way. Róisín Murphy’s vocals lend a delicate and soulful counterweight to Koze’s breakneck sample cutups on “Illumination” (she also appears on the downtempo palate cleanser “Scratch That”). José González, Mano Le Tough, Eddie Fummler, Kurt Wagner of Lambchop and Pampa Records signee Sophia Kennedy also feature, plus (perhaps most surprisingly) Speech from Arrested Development. As always, Koze makes it abundantly clear he’s not pandering to DJs or tailoring his tracks to neatly fit into the Tetris block rigidity that often defines a techno set… he deploys broken beats, abrupt changes and beat switches with a playful wave of his wand. Although we’d love to hear what some of these tracks would do on a rig to a packed room, Knock Knock seems best suited for introspective listening sessions at home. This deluxe version includes the full album on gatefold double vinyl, plus a bonus 7” containing two additional tracks, bonus 10” containing 3 additional tracks, bonus LP containing instrumental versions of all the vocal tracks from the album, plus the full album on CD and a foldout poster, all housed in deluxe hardcover box with full color printed inner sleeves. Extremely limited, don’t sleep (a pared-down deluxe double vinyl pressing of the album with the bonus 7" is also available). Recommended.

  • deluxe hardcover outer box
  • full album on double vinyl + CD
  • full color gatefold sleeve
  • bonus LP containing album instrumentals
  • bonus 7-inch
  • bonus 10-inch
  • full color printed inner sleeves
  • foldout poster
  • limited edition
  • music label: Pampa 2018
reviewed by big dumb man 04/2018
UPC: 673799291333

Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed