DJ Shadow The Mountain Will Fall Vinyl 2LP

Free Shipping
Vinyl 2LP $28.95
Pin It



The triumphant return of DJ Shadow! Josh Davis (aka DJ Shadow) changed the game with his '96 debut masterpiece Endtroducing, setting the high watermark for sample-based instrumental hip hop and influencing generations of producers to come. Fast forward two decades later and the "Jimi Hendrix of sampling" is back (after a 5 year hiatus) with an evolved sound palette that pushes his style into the 21st century. On The Mountain Will Fall, Shadow has a fresh bag of tricks up his sleeve utilizing heavy synth sounds and tough drum machines in lieu of dusty samples and breaks, while recruiting a new breed of talent on the assist including Run The Jewels, Nils Frahm, Ernie Fresh, Matthew Halsall, and more. Check the sound on "Bergschrund" with Frahm, "Nobody Speak" with El-P and Killer Mike, "The Sideshow," "Ashes To Oceans" with Halsall, "Ghost Town," and "Mambo." Double vinyl pressing housed in gatefold jacket with printed innersleeves featuring Shadow infront of walls of synths, stickers, and a stencil. 

  • gatefold sleeve
  • stickers + stencil included
  • music label: Mass Appeal 2016
reviewed by Nimitz 06/2016