Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Drippin' For A Tripp (Tripp-A-Dubb-Mix) Vinyl 2LP

Honest Jon's RecordsSKU dm-5228

cosmic and heady left field house
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sex Tags Mania mastermind DJ Sotofett teams up with Honest Jon's for a double 12" set of some seriously tripped out material! If you've followed the Norwegian producer and his cohorts over the last few years you know that you're in for quite a ride. Drippin' For A Tripp moves all over the musical map as only Sotofett can. Balearic island bliss, wide open jams, new wave house and more are all under the hood of this beast. Each side brings on a new collaborator and a change in gears, refreshing takes on the Tripp theme. It's futuristic and tribal all at once. The opening side with Jaakko Eino Kalevi takes a decidedly atmospheric approach, with improvised lines weaving in and over each other. Phillip Lauer comes in on the B side, picking up where Kalevi left off before heading into the housier territory he's known for. The "Nimbus-Mix" is especially good here. As we get deeper into the release Sotofett pushes things in a pseudo-Afro direction, the percussion bubbling away behind Karolin Tampere's vocals. The set closes with even more tribal vibes. Plenty of Emulator II loon sample fly around the mix as water droplets make their own captivating poly-rhythms. Deepness indeed!

  • music label: Honest Jon's Records 2015
reviewed by Joey Coco 06/2015
UPC: 56117316


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed