Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Rubaiyat Of Dorothy Ashby (Verve By Request Series 180g) Vinyl LP

CadetSKU fr-4930

beautiful afro-jazz harp w/ lush arrangements, high-quality reissue cut at Third Man in Detroit
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Essential Dorothy Ashby! This high quality Verve By Request edition is cut on 180 gram vinyl at Third Man Pressing in Detroit from a newly remastered transfer. Original Lab review:

Released in 1969, Rubaiyat was the follow-up to the cult-favorite Afro Harping. Lesser known perhaps due to its rarity, Rubaiyat follows in line with more of the funky awkwardness established by its predecessor. The monster track here is "The Moving Finger," with a chanting intro setting off a nice break followed by a strange combination of solos featuring vibes, fuzz guitar, piccolo, kalimba, koto, and sax. "Myself When I Was Young" captures the scope of Ashby's sound starting with some eastern sounding tones, followed by a short, lush break-driven arrangement, then Ashby's traditional vocals, followed by a back beat section with the signature funky harp and equally funky strings and flute accompaniment. Large arrangements have never been my thing, but on this and Afro Harping, it achieves a lush layering effect, no horns threaten to take over. And with the popularity of exotic beats, every inch of Rubaiyat is sure to prove relevant to the producer's ear, check out "For Some We Loved," quite possibly the most impressive track of the album. 10 tracks in all, recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • Verve By Request edition pressed at Third Man Pressing in Detroit
  • newly remastered
  • original release year: 1970
  • music label: Cadet 2023
reviewed by the mgmnt 01/2006
UPC: 602448990716


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed