Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

American Band (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP+7"

ATO RecordsSKU lp-8066

politically conscious southern rock
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Here’s is the 11th album from Drive-By Truckers, a Alabama-bred, Georgia-based band. Founded by Mike Cooley and Patterson Hood in 1996, the band takes a strong stance on political issues of the moment. Take “Surrender Under Protest,” for example, on which the band sides w/ the civil rights activists’ successful push to remove the Confederate flag from the South Carolina Statehouse (Patterson Hood has written a moving, poignant piece for the New York Times regarding the matter). Although the Truckers have always been about redefining and painting a more accurate, historically-informed picture of the South, the single was met with some opposition from the band’s fanbase. Cooley and Hood are unfazed, however, and for the rest of the album, they keep speaking their minds on “matters that matter,” such as “societal disintegration, urban/rural divide,” and anger/discontent that surrounds the issues. Other highlights of the album include “Ramon Casiano,” Darkened Flags On the Cusp of Dawn,” “What It Means,” and “Guns of Umpqua,” which takes a hard look at the tragic Oregon shooting.

  • red marbled vinyl
  • includes 7" of "Kinky Hypocrite"
  • limited to 5,000 copies
  • music label: ATO Records 2016
reviewed by donut savage 10/2016
UPC: 74468424


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed