Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Wait Til I Get Over (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Dead OceansSKU lp-13737

solo album from The Indications singer in classic southern soul style
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$17.95 Original Price$25.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Wait Til I Get Over passes story down from (and heaps homage upon) Durand Jones’ hometown of Hillaryville, Louisiana. Here, on his debut solo album, Jones lays us several courses and flavors of sound that are all distinctly Southern and Black—rhythms heavy with raw, Delta grit; bright exhalations of church spirituals; even tender, cadent spoken word. Taken as a whole, Wait Til I Get Over is a mesmerizing new addition to Southern Black music, affirming Jones as a uniquely gifted artist and vanguard of the form. Throughout the album, Jones shows us he’s not afraid to get his hands dirty, enduring with a concept until it takes the proper form. On lead single 'Lord Have Mercy', Jones describes the method and reward of this rare live-band recording—to simply play it, back to back without stopping, until the energy caught up to his lyrics and mood references. With Ben Lumsdaine on drums, Drake Ritter on guitar, Matt Romy on keyboards, and Glenn Myers on bass, the result is reminiscent of Muscle Shoals—unconstrained, defiant, and thoroughly precise. In the title track, Jones resurrects vintage Gospel composition to provide us something new but familiar. Based loosely on a 'Lining Hymn' style, Jones tried to embody and emulate specific members of his hometown choir—mentors and keepers of this specific musical tradition—as he sang through every choral section himself. It’s a tactile approach and a visceral success, stomping louder and louder until synths set the song alight, illustrating the refrain 'I’ll hitch on my wings, and then I’ll try the air'. As one of the singers and principle songwriters of his band Durand Jones And The Indications, Jones’s professional creative efforts have been, for the most part, in aggregate. On Wait Til I Get Over, Jones leans into the vulnerability of his singular perspective, delivering something utterly distilled and potent." - Dead Oceans

  • debut solo album from Durand Jones of Durand Jones & The Indications
  • 'blue jay' colored vinyl
  • includes 20 page booklet containing song lyrics, poetry + prose by Durand Jones
  • limited edition
  • music label: Dead Oceans 2023
UPC: 656605158037


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed