Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Dance (Pal Joey) Vinyl 12"

CabaretSKU dm-5652

timeless NYC house calssic
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $13.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 139 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Indisputable NYC house classic back in print! Here's what DJ Ayres had to say when we first stocked this back in 2005: "Dance" was the first house record I owned, given to me by an older Chicago DJ, and I can't think of a better introduction to house music. Especially since I was strictly playing hip-hop back then and the B-Side was Soho's "Hot Music," which was and still is THE b-boy house record. Both are New York house classics, although "Dance" is the more overlooked, less obvious of the two. "Dance" is built on samples rather than drum machines and synths, with very little filters or effects - it's got that gritty, raw feel that dancers flip for. And the 4-bar drums-only intro on the club mix is made for doubling and cutting - check Derrick May's Mayday Mix CD for more on that. This was originally on the Kool Groove Label in 1989; Earth People and Soho are both Pal Joey aliases. The "Bonus Beats" is a much more stripped down approach - same banging drums, just less loops on top. Get doubles.

  • music label: Cabaret 2016
reviewed by the latest dancer 12/2016
UPC: 18592264


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed