Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Oghneya Vinyl LP

Habibi Funk RecordsSKU fr-4769

lush 1978 Lebanese soul gem reissued for the 1st time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"An absolutely legendary album from Lebanon by Issam Hajali’s group Ferkat Al Ard, Oghneya stands out as one of the great musical gems of the Arab world. A groundbreaking release from 1978 that represents the meeting point of Arab, jazz, folk and Brazilian styles with the talent of Ziad Rahbani, who did the albums arrangements. Filled with a variety of sounds and genres, from Baroque Pop to Psych-Folk to flashes of Bossa Nova, Tropicalia and MPB, Oghneya is like if Arthur Verocai took a trip to Beirut in the 70’s to record an album. In 2015 we heard Ferkat Al Ard’s music for the first time, a Lebanese trio compromised of Issam Hajali, Toufic Farroukh and Elia Saba. It is a stunningly unique release that blends traditional Arabic elements, jazz and Brazilian rhythms hand in hand with poetic-yet-politically engaged lyrics. The band was active in the left-wing movement of Lebanon of the time and they communicated their political ideas candidly through their songwriting. Comes with an extensive booklet with an interview with Issam as well as unseen photos from the recording sessions." - Habibi Funk

  • first-time vinyl reissue of rare Lebanese soul album
  • black vinyl pressing
  • includes booklet w/ extensive liner notes + interview w/ Issam Hajali
  • includes previously unreleased track 'Juma’a 6 Hziran'
  • note: reissue omits 2 songs from the original album tracklisting (' Ghfyara Ghaza,' 'Huloul') per the band's request
  • original release year: 1978
  • music label: Habibi Funk Records 2022
UPC: 673790036773


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed