Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Pop (180g) Vinyl 3LP

KompaktSKU lp-11061

crucial reissue of Wolfgang Voigt's '00 ambient masterpiece
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

A masterclass in ambient music. Wolfgang Voigts work as Gas is beautifully mechanic with the gentlest human touch. Pop is the fourth in a series of longform ambient excursions released on the Mille Plateaux label, now reissued in full by Voigt’s esteemed Kompakt imprint. Voigt builds 7 distinct worlds here, fully fleshed out with what sounds like AI-reconstructed false memories of rustling trees (“Pop 1,” “Pop 2”), insect microcosms nestled beneath chaotic urban hellscapes (“Pop 3,” “Pop 5”), church bells caught in time warp reverberating ad infinitum (“Pop 4”), trusting his audience enough to toss them into the middle of each one and assume they can find their way out. Sophisticated, terrestrial, heartbreakingly gorgeous. One full consumption of this record with the sleeve in your hands makes all these modern day tote bag & dad hat-clad ‘ambient’ producers look and sound like total buffoons. This 180g 3LP edition is the first vinyl reissue in 20 years (unless you count the dreadful-sounding version that came in the Gas boxset a couple years ago; we don’t) and it sounds fantastic. Recommended.

  • black triple vinyl pressing
  • originally released in 2000
  • limited edition
  • digital download included
  • music label: Kompakt 2019
reviewed by naffi sandwich 01/2020
UPC: 880319818431


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed