Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

We're New Here Vinyl LP

XL RecordingsSKU lp-4845

spoken word meets forward-thinking bass
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

After whetting our appetites with "New York Is Killing Me," Jamie xx releases We're New Here, a thirteen-track full-length featuring The xx producer's reinterpretation of Gil-Scott Heron's 2010 album I'm New Here. The aforementioned track (also included here) perfectly fused short snippets of GSH's bluesy vocals with Jamie xx's future bass sensibilities, and pairings of equal quality can be found in tracks like "Home," "My Cloud," and "I'll Take Care Of U," which feature sophisticated beats, lofty, emotive synth work, and thick, heavy low-end work. Also check out "Running," as Heron's spoken word piece rides beautifully over a melodic and dark hip-hop/new school beats-influenced instrumental, or some of the interludes like "Jazz" and "I've Been Me," which are short but nevertheless capture the essence of this project. Recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • housed in die-cut sleeve w/ printed foldout insert
  • digital download included
  • music label: XL Recordings 2011
reviewed by nakinboots 03/2011



UPC: 634904051716


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed