Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Alive! (180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4420

1970 funky jazz from prolific guitarist, 180g all-analog remaster
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

I love this ish in an early 2000, everything-is-awesome, musky dorm room type of way... and I love it in a grown-n-sexy, get me a cheap shiraz, and some Sportscenter type of way. Idris getting double-double animal style on Kool & The Gang cover "Let The Music Take Your Mind"? Is that one of the best jazz funk covers ever? Or how about the belly rubbing, pork belly delicious "Down Here On The Ground," famously sampled by Michael Rappaport, I mean A Tribe Called Quest? "Sookie Sookie" has famously been commercialized, but you can't deny the majestic sheen. If you're in a loungey, contemplative mood, check the 11 minute plus "Time To Remember," and give remembrance to that burrito you just killed. Highly recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original tapes
  • limited edition
  • featuring Grant Green (g), Claude Bartee (t. sax), Ronnie Foster (organ), Earl Neal Creque (organ)Idris Muhammad (d), Joseph Armstrong (perc)
  • music label: Blue Note Records 2021
reviewed by the mgmnt 07/2011
UPC: 602508073854


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed