Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Nigeria (Tone Poet 180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4962

stretched out 1962 session ft. Art Blakey on drums; all-analog remaster
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Grant Green’s Nigeria is an under-recognized gem in the guitarist’s remarkable Blue Note catalog. Recorded in 1962, but not first released until 1980, the album features a top-shelf band with Sonny Clark on piano, Sam Jones on bass, and, in one of his only appearances with Green, Art Blakey on drums. The groove is deep and wide right from the start on the Sonny Rollins classic 'Airegin' followed by a version of the Gershwin standard 'It Ain’t Necessarily So' for the ages with Blakey stoking the fire with his powerhouse drumming and verbal shouts. Side B presents timeless renditions of 3 more standards: 'I Concentrate On You,' 'The Things We Did Last Summer,' and 'The Song Is You'." - Blue Note Records

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • housed in glossy tip-on gatefold sleeve 
  • part of Blue Note's Tone Poet 180g audiophile remaster series
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original tapes
  • limited edition
  • featuring Grant Green (g), Sonny Clark (p), Sam Jones (b), Art Blakey (d)
  • original release year: 1980 (recorded 1962)
  • music label: Blue Note Records 2023
UPC: 602508358906


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed