Grateful Dead American Beauty (180g) Vinyl LP

Free Shipping
Vinyl LP $24.95
Pin It



Fifth studio album from San Francisco's Grateful Dead. American Beauty was recorded between August and September 1970, a few months after the release of Workingman's Dead. Both albums were innovative at the time for their fusion of bluegrass, rock and roll, folk and, especially, country music. American Beauty features even less guitar work from Jerry Garcia who opted for pedal steel guitar passages in place of his usual lead role. The Mouse-Kelley Studios produced artwork is an ambigram and can also be read as "American Reality." Includes the songs: "Sugar Magnolia," "Friend of the Devil," "Ripple," and "Truckin." 10 tracks in all. Released by Warner Bros. Records on 180g vinyl.

  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • music label: Warner Bros. Records 1970 / 2011
reviewed by black-eyed katy 0/2015