Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Wake Of The Flood Vinyl LP

Rhino RecordsSKU lp-10171

early 70s studio album form the Bay Area jam band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sixth studio album from San Francisco's Grateful Dead. Wake Of The Flood was originally recorded in 1973, three years after the release of their last studio output. The album marked a step in the evolution of the band as founding member Ron "Pigpen" McKernan had passed away. In his absence he was replaced by keyboardist Keith Godchaux who was more in tune with bebop and modal jazz, rather than Pigpen's penchant for blues and soul. Written primarily by Robert Hunter and Jerry Garcia, the songs mix everything from country folk and R&B to ragtime and jazz rock. Although the studio setting and recording format did not allow the band to fully stretch out, many of the songs on the album would go on to become features of their live set. Notable songs include: "Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo," "Here Comes The Sunshine," and "Weather Report Suite." Seven tracks in all. Released by Rhino Records on black vinyl housed in a full color sleeve.

  • part of Rhino's Rocktober reissue series
  • music label: Rhino Records 2018
reviewed by Haight St McDonalds 10/2018
UPC: 91493232


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed