Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Liquid Swords - Marvel Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

UMeSKU hh-4979

classic '95 debut gets a Marvel makeover
2 Reviews
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"The game of chess is like a sword fight..." GZA's solo debut gets an official Marvel makeover as part of Marvel Comics' variant cover series! It's no secret that there has always been a connection between the Wu and comic book culture, and this Marvel Edition of Liquid Swords cements that link. Here GZA's classic 1995 effort gets a full cover re-work for Marvel's Contest of Champions, complete with lithographic artwork by Denys Cowan and Bill Sienkiewicz! This limited edition pressing also includes an exclusive deluxe edition of Contest Of Champions #1, along with a double LP pressing of Liquid Swords on translucent "sea glass" colored vinyl. Ya'll already probably know this album by heart, but for the one or two of you out there that are unfamilair, here's our vintage Lab review:

Usually thought of as the most overlooked of the Wu-classics, Liquid Swords actually recently achieved platinum status (the 1st Wu record to do so!). The centerpiece of the album is definitely the title track with its dark Shogun Assassin intro. I have creepy memories of Prince Paul playing this at the Cooler (remember that place?) and a room of 100 doods yelling along like they were at church. One of RZA's simplest manipulations but definitely one of his most effective. There's several singles with varying degrees of success: "Shadow Boxing," "Cold World," and "Labels," but the album-only tracks cut deep like the bugged-out "4th Chamber" with Ghostface, or the deceptively smooth "Duel of the Iron Mic." A must-cop for the Wu and Marvel Comics fans alike. Recommended.

  • sea glass colored double vinyl pressing
  • part of Marvel Comics' variant cover series
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1995
  • music label: UMe 2018
reviewed by the mgmnt 10/2011
UPC: 602567926252


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed